June 2013 Movie Preview

I’m again looking forward to the coming month of movie releases in the UK. Are there any films you’re excited about in the coming month where you live? By all means, let me know! What have I missed? (Maybe it’s not coming out in June in the UK, but I’d still be keen to know about it.)

Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy in Before Midnight (2013)
Jesse (Ethan Hawke) and Celine (Julie Delpy) chatting in Before Midnight. They always do a lot of chatting in these films.

I’m Excited About…

  • Behind the Candelabra (7 June). Anyone who follows Soderbergh knows his work can be patchy. I wasn’t a huge fan of Side Effects, but I’m certainly keen to see the direction he goes for this latest (and last?) of his films.
  • Man of Steel (14 June). This could be utterly, atrociously, painfully awful. It could be really enjoyable. Who knows? Marvel adaptations have raised the bar for comic book films in recent years, so it’s up to director Zack Snyder to let us all down (or not?). I am heartened by the fact that I could hear Russell Crowe’s native New Zealand tones on the trailer, so at least he’s not doing an accent…
  • Before Midnight (21 June). Richard Linklater’s Bernie was a highlight of the past year, so I know he’s still making good films. Before Sunset, his previous film in this (so far) trilogy, is simply one of my favourite films, and it is very simple. Simple but affecting. I have high hopes for this return to nuanced relationship terrain.

I’m Not Sure About…

  • Thérèse Desqueyroux (7 June). A literary adaptation, which can sometimes augur the most tedious of ‘heritage’ projects in French cinema, but it’s the last film of director Claude Miller, and though I’m not convinced his work isn’t of that ilk, I’m willing to give it a go.
  • Admission (14 June). Tina Fey is one of the great comic talents of the last decade. Paul Rudd is hugely likeable and has often been a dependable presence in American comedies too. And yet and yet, will this be any good? Reviews are mixed to say the least.
  • Much Ado about Nothing (14 June). I sometimes feel like Joss Whedon’s reputation is too much staked on Buffy and Firefly all those years ago, shows I’ve enjoyed but also been at times disappointed by. Setting him and his troupe of actors against Shakespeare seems like a gimmick, but he proved he can direct movies with Marvel’s The Avengers, so we’ll see.
  • Like Someone in Love (21 June). Famed Iranian auteur Abbas Kiarostami doing a movie in Japan. I’ve loved many of his films, but other auteurs have gone astray when making films outside their home countries.
  • Hummingbird (28 June). Every new Jason Statham movie is a gift to the dedicated film lover, surely?

I’m Not So Excited About…

  • After Earth (7 June). I feel like I’ve already seen enough movies about fathers and sons this year. It’s a popular theme, an overdone one, and I have no particular faith that the esteemed director M. Night Shyamalan will do much to change that opinion.

Special Screenings

2 thoughts on “June 2013 Movie Preview

  1. I’ve seen Much Ado About Nothing twice now (it showed at Glasgow Film Festival in February) and it’s wonderful. I’m a die-hard Whedonite, so I am slightly biased, but it’s really great – small scale and intimate, rather than obviously low-budget, and there’s a delightful familiarity in the cast (with each other and with any viewer who’s watched Whedon’s previous films and tv shows). They’re all clearly having a great time but it doesn’t feel affected or pretentious, and there are some beautiful scenes that look especially great in black and white. The only thing it took a while to adjust to for me was the Shakespearean language, and I would have loved to see what Whedon would have come up with if he’d modernised it (his dialogue’s so distinctive), but I think it works really well. As you may be able to gather, I’d thoroughly recommend it.

    1. Fair enough, and I’m glad to hear it’s good. I had been worried seeing his core cast declaiming the Shakespearean language in black-and-white, for as you say he does have a distinctive ‘voice’ himself. Looking forward to it more now.

Discuss!

