July 2013 Movie Preview

Bit late this month, but I’m again looking forward to the coming month of movie releases in the UK. Are there any films you’re excited about in the coming month where you live? By all means, let me know! What have I missed? (Maybe it’s not coming out in July in the UK, but I’d still be keen to know about it.)

Yes, I'm a sucker for arty black-and-white European films.
Yes, I’m a sucker for arty black-and-white European films.

I’m Excited About…

  • The Bling Ring (5 July). I’m probably one of few to be really excited by Sofia Coppola’s latest film, but I’ve always had a soft spot for her take on listless ennui amongst the young and overprivileged.
  • Blancanieves (12 July). It sounds like an artistic and interesting take on the Snow White mythology, and I do like modern silent films, though hopefully this is not a bandwagon jumper (in so far as this is any kind of bandwagon). However, early word of mouth has been positive.
  • The World’s End (19 July). The third in a trilogy of sorts featuring the collaboration of Simon Pegg, Nick Frost and Edgar Wright, this should at least be fun like the last two, Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, which were easily amongst the best British comedies of recent memory.

I’m Not Sure About…

  • A Field in England (5 July). I’ve not seen any of director Ben Wheatley’s other films but have heard great things about them. This looks excellent and stylish, but as it’s released simultaneously in cinemas, on physical media, and on TV, I suspect it’s that last place I’ll be seeing it.
  • Pacific Rim (12 July). Guillermo del Toro has made some great films, so I feel like I should be able to trust him with what sounds more like Michael Bay territory.
  • Frances Ha (26 July). I have conflicting emotions about Noah Baumbach’s films, but this story of a woman following her dance dreams sounds rather fetching.
  • Girl Most Likely (26 July). I love Kristin Wiig, but the Saturday Night Live pedigree can cut both ways in feature films. UPDATE 31 Jul: Appears this has been delayed to September.
  • Romeo and Juliet (26 July). Another adaptation of one of Shakespeare’s most overworked and overestimated plays. Still, it has Chuck Bass in it (which is to say Ed Westwick, if you’re not fans of TV’s Gossip Girl). UPDATE 31 Jul: Another delayed film, didn’t come out in July, and no word when it will be released…
  • The Heat (31 July). I am far from a fan of most of Sandra Bullock’s oeuvre, and I’m not even sure about Melissa McCarthy, but this has pedigree in that it comes from the makers of Bridesmaids, a film I really enjoyed. So I am hopeful.

I’m Not So Excited About…

  • We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks (12 July). Perhaps this is a great documentary and has a nuanced take on Mr Assange and his travails, but I feel already overexposed to this story and his questionable cult of personality.
  • The Wolverine (25 July). The film based around Wolverine’s origin story was by far the weakest in the X Men franchise, so I have no high hopes for this.

Special Screenings

  • Springsteen and I (22 July). A fan-made documentary that will appeal to my wife, and to which I shall no doubt be dragged along, but I have respect for Springsteen and his stadium-rocking skills.
6 thoughts on “July 2013 Movie Preview

    1. It’s had a few festival screenings here and there, but a proper release will be welcome. Though I suspect it will come and go almost as quickly.

    1. Indeed, it will probably come and go fairly quickly, though I was surprised to see it listed on the coming attractions at Cineworld, which is hardly a tiny arthouse chain or anything…

Discuss!

