September 2013 Movie Preview

I’m again looking forward to the coming month of movie releases in the UK. Are there any films you’re excited about in the coming month where you live? By all means, let me know! What have I missed? (Maybe it’s not coming out this month in the UK, but I’d still be keen to know about it.)

Nice glowering lads. Hemsworth and Brühl go head to head in Rush (2013).
Nice glowering lads. Hemsworth and Brühl go head to head in Rush (2013).

I’m Excited About…

  • Rush (13 September). Nothing to do with the band, this is about motor racing. And sure, it’s Ron Howard so it’ll probably be drippy, or maybe it’ll be like Days of Thunder? In any case, it has Chris Hemsworth and lots of speed and looks like fun, so I am trying to be hopeful.

I’m Not Sure About…

  • About Time (4 September). You sort of know what you’re getting with a Richard Curtis romantic comedy, and if his other ones have been extremely indulgent middle-class nonsense, I’ve also personally found them quite likeable (well Love Actually more than I expected, and Notting Hill about as much as expected). So I’m willing to give it a go, despite the ridiculous time travel premise.
  • Ain’t Them Bodies Saints (6 September). Looks like Malick lite, but I’m a Malick fan, so I’ll probably go and see this.
  • Museum Hours (6 September). Jem Cohen does films about inertia and the colonised spaces of modernity, or er something like that. I’m sure it’ll be lugubrious, but it should be interesting at least.
  • Blue Jasmine (27 September). A new Woody Allen film. Dare I bother? I generally don’t like his films, so it’s borderline.
  • Girl Most Likely (27 September). This has had some poor reviews, but yet it has Kristen Wiig in it, so…

I’m Not So Excited About…

  • Riddick (4 September). I am really just in want of someone to convince me this will be good. I like Vin Diesel, and I enjoy the Fast and Furious movies, but I’m not familiar with this franchise, and it doesn’t look like my kind of thing.
  • White House Down (6 September). It was a big flop in the States, and I disliked the other White House-invasion movie this year, Olympus Has Fallen, so I probably won’t bother with this one. Also, Roland Emmerich has never yet made a good movie, to my mind.
  • Diana (20 September). How much do I want to see a film about Diana Princess of Wales? None at all. How about a film about her forbidden relationship (etc etc) with an Indian doctor? This is possibly getting towards the bottom of my list of films I want to go see in my life.
  • R.I.P.D. (20 September). I have a soft spot for Jeff Bridges, but not for Ryan Reynolds, and given the reviews and box office of this film in the States, I think it’s a safe miss.
4 thoughts on “September 2013 Movie Preview

  1. I’m a bit unsure about Rush. I like some of Ron Howard’s work, but it does look mostly like Oscar bait for me. I want to check out Ain’t Them Bodies Saints. Nice preview.

    1. Yeah, maybe Rush won’t be so great. I can’t remember any Ron Howard films I’ve actually totally loved… I guess I feel like it’s slim pickings for films I’m excited by this month! Oh well. I expect some of them to be really enjoyable nonetheless, maybe including Ain’t Them Bodies Saints.

  2. I’m really looking forward to Blue Jasmine because (a) Louis CK’s in it and, more importantly, (b) it’s not set in Europe. I’ll give Rush a go, for the Curtis you would have to force me into the cinema at gunpoint.

    1. Actually, yes, I think that’s right attitude towards Richard Curtis. I did not know that Louis CK was in Blue Jasmine, so that’ll definitely help. I didn’t see any of the Woodster’s Eurofilms, mainly because (i) aforementioned dislike of Woody in the first place, (ii) the reviews were dire. He hasn’t done a good film since Everyone Says I Love you; that’s my challenging opinion of the day.

Discuss!

