November 2013 Movie Preview

I’m again looking forward to the coming month of movie releases in the UK. Are there any films you’re excited about in the coming month where you live? By all means, let me know! What have I missed? (Maybe it’s not coming out this month in the UK, but I’d still be keen to know about it.)

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
The lovely Jennifer Lawrence thinks hard about where the franchise is going.

I’m Excited About…

  • Drinking Buddies (1 November). I like the stars (especially Anna Kendrick since she did Pitch Perfect) and I like that it’s set in a craft brewery. It’s the inheritor of ‘mumblecore’ which if it means a little character-focused story about actual people, then count me as being all aboard. So yes, I’m looking forward to it.
  • Gravity (8 November). Everywhere else in the world has already had this film come out and it’s been getting some great reviews. I like the director, and I imagine it will be a visually-strong work.
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (21 November). Shut up, the first one was great, I ♥ J-Law, so bring it on.
  • Computer Chess (22 November). More in the vein of ‘mumblecore’, this time from founding director Andrew Bujalski, one or two of whose films I’ve seen and really admired. I know nothing about the premise of this particular film, but a few people have told me they liked it, and I trust my friends’ opinions.

I’m Not Sure About…

  • Don Jon (15 November). Joseph Gordon-Levitt has made a relationship drama that features him, Scarlett Johansson and internet pr0n, so who knows how this will go. Should at least be well-acted.
  • Blue Is the Warmest Colour (22 November). A three-hour French relationship drama is my kind of thing, so I suspect I’ll like it, but who knows. Things always get a bit polarised around Palme d’Or winners.
  • Saving Mr. Banks (29 November). Sounds like it could be a bit saccharine, but I’m a fan of the easy charms of both Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, and I like a bit of shmaltz from time to time.
  • All Is Lost (29 November UPDATE: release moved to 26 December). I’ve heard really positive things about this drama about one man (Robert Redford) lost in the vastness of the ocean.

I’m Not So Excited About…

  • Last Vegas (8 November). No thanks. It’s interesting the way that nowadays ‘stars Robert De Niro’ is pretty much a sure-fire sign that a movie can be safely avoided.
  • Seduced and Abandoned (8 November). A “meta-documentary” is something to inspire fear at the best of times. From what I’ve read about this one, I am really unsure. I don’t doubt director James Toback has made some interesting films in the past, but I think I can live without him and Alec Baldwin being sleazy on the Riviera.
  • Parkland (8 November). I am on-board the ‘Zac Efron is a great actor of his generation’ bus, but I fear I’m in a minority, and do we really need more films about JFK?
  • Carrie (29 November). In theory, should be good. Star Chloë Moretz and director Kimberley Peirce are well-placed to give this a female-positive spin, but I’m hardly a big horror fan, and I suspect this won’t be for me.
2 thoughts on “November 2013 Movie Preview

Discuss!

