Site News


Hello!

Yes, this is just an admin post, but it’s been almost a year I’ve been doing this thing, so indulge me. I wanted to mention that I’ve changed my site design (which is to say, picked a different WordPress theme). I wanted to get rid of the little movie theatre marquee headers that I wasn’t really updating very often. Plus I wanted a theme that put more focus on the text, as despite my best efforts, all I’ve really been writing up to now have been reviews.

Obviously, I would like to try to diversify a bit, maybe do more list posts, but I’m naturally still behind on my reviewing. Indeed, I think I was overworking myself a little trying to get one out every weekday at various points last year, so I think I’ll be cutting those down to a handful a week (unless something really takes my fancy). In fact, I have a few reviews still to post about various documentaries and meta-fictions, so I thought I’d group them together and make February a month for ‘films about filmmaking’. My last attempt at a themed month went fairly well (the Jean-Luc Godard director focus), but I did rather extend that beyond a month, and frankly there are still a few Godard films I own but haven’t watched yet… At least one of those I should be able to incorporate into this new themed month. Score!

Finally, not sure if anyone noticed it, but I added a new page, the Film Lists. It’s a way to collect films that make various ‘best of’ lists without any repetition, so I’ve listed all the films chronologically and marked which of my three featured lists they’re on. One of them is a list put together by my favourite film critic, Jonathan Rosenbaum, whose taste is sufficiently broad that some of them I may never get round to seeing as they are barely available in any format, but it’s a useful guide nonetheless. Like all lists, my own included, they need to be taken in their context, but I generally like lists that are more personal and less the outcome of a committee. The Sight and Sound poll is probably the best that can be done with the latter method, as it gathers opinions from a huge cross-section of international film critics. That said, the 1001 Movies book list that some bloggers use as a way to get into classic films is as good an entry point as any and allows plenty of good critiques (some of its inclusions seem odd, to say the least, but hopefully all contribute to an understanding of world film culture in some way). Anyway, there’s that.

So thanks again for reading, and I’m always open to suggestions.

Discuss!

